Drawing and Laser Cutting

21/01/2014

My first attempts at drawing for laser cutting didn’t go too well. I was quite unsure of the style which I wanted and I think the drawings I had were too controlled to have the organic feel of the smoke running through them.

When cut the piece was bulky and heavy which is not at all what I wanted.

I tried to cut one of my drawings which was done in rough pen marks and I think the elements of this cut much better than the ones which I had intended to cut in the first place, however there were areas cut out that were much too large and ruined the feel of the piece. Some of the smaller details were quite nice though and have given me something to work on.

Lasercut Paper

 

I pinned some of the larger cut out pieces back in front of the cut out paper to add a layered effect. I think this works quite well as an idea but needs a lot more refining. 

P1050235

I also tried pinning these straight onto black which I think looks really effective, however I think the cut pieces and composition would need to be more interesting and have more of a direction to really become interesting and eye-catching.

Laser cut paper pinned

For my next set of drawings I will try to work on the smaller details and loose marks made in these cuts to refine the laser cutting and hopefully be able to create the weightless effect that smoke has, in paper.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment